Alexis Demailly interview

Alexis Demailly (Principal Cornet of the National Opera Orchestra of Paris) commissioned a new work for cornet/trumpet and string quartet (titled “Meditation”) from me last year, and has recently recorded it ready for his new CD release “Fantasque” – where Alexis is accompanied by the Urban String Quartet.

Ahead of the release, he has given a very interesting interview on 4barsrest.com, where he talks about the project as a whole, the composers involved and why he commissioned them. As a composer, it’s always nice to read/hear such kind words about your music, especially when it’s from a musician such as Alexis (I’m also described as “young” by the interviewer, so of course it is a good interview….).

I’ve heard the final edit of Meditation, and the playing and musicianship are absolutely stunning – can’t wait to hear the whole CD!

Peter’s music is refined, with beautiful strands of melodies and sublime underlying harmonies that are enough to stand on their own.” – Alexis Demailly

Click here to read the interview.

Posted in News

Shopping Cart

Upcoming performances

Winnipeg, MB, Canada
let this place
Friday, 06 December 2019 19:30


Tokyo, Japan
Song of Hope
Thursday, 12 December 2019 18:30


Birmingham, AL
Zenith
Saturday, 14 December 2019 15:00


Chicago, IL
Song of Hope
Wednesday, 18 December 2019 20:00


Kennesaw, GA
Apophenia
Saturday, 01 February 2020 20:00


Omaha, NB
Epitaph for Hillsborough
Wednesday, 05 February 2020


Brandon, MB, Canada
Waves Towards the Pebbled Shore
Saturday, 08 February 2020 19:30


Chicago, IL
let this place
Tuesday, 03 March 2020


Aiken, SC
Forgotten Children
Thursday, 05 March 2020 19:30


St. Charles, IL
Athabasca
Thursday, 12 March 2020 19:30